Guest Lecture Series

The John Hutson Memorial Guest Lecture Series was established in the fall of 1996 in conjunction with Brentwood School's 25th Anniversary. It is named in memory of former History and Political Science Chair, John Hutson, a passionate historian and beloved teacher. The series presents speakers each year, providing Brentwood School students, parents, faculty, alumni, and community members with unique opportunities to hear from—and in some cases, meet with—highly notable, world-renowned authorities in literature, journalism, science, the arts, history, philosophy, and politics. There are two events each year, one that is open to the community, and one that presents a visiting scholar to students and faculty during assembly and classroom sessions. These scholar visits are one of the ways Brentwood School fulfills its mission of promoting personal and intellectual growth for all members of our community.

Brentwood School was pleased to welcome Erik Larson to our campus on Sunday, January 29, 2017.

Erik Larson is a master of narrative nonfiction. His vividly written, bestselling books have won several awards and been published worldwide. His most recent book, Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania, reached #1 on the New York Times Best Seller list. His critically-acclaimed book, The Devil in the White City, remained on the New York Times Best Seller list for a combined total of over six years, won an Edgar Award for nonfiction crime writing, and was nominated for the National Book Award. You can read Erik Larson's bio and watch videos of him online here.

Past Lecturers

Maya Angelou

Doris Kearns Goodwin
Frank McCourt
Jeanne Kirkpatrick
Edward Albee
Leah Rabin
Kurt Vonnegut
Amy Tan
Leon Panetta
Joyce Carol Oates
William Styron
Tony Kushner
Edward O. Wilson
Stephen Carter
Alice Walker
Alice Sebold
Eric Schlosser
Margaret Atwood
Jhumpa Lahiri
Daniel Pink
Lisa See
Ray Kurzweil
Ira Glass
Malcolm Gladwell
Khaled Hosseini
Gloria Steinem
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Erik Larson

Past Visiting Scholars

Clayborne Carson

Billy Collins
Harvey Cox
Wade Davis
Gus Lee
Luis Rodriguez
Orville Schell
Tobias Wolff
Mark Mathabane